Do William Hill pay first past the post? Answered Updated for 2023
Updated: 6 December
Yes, William Hill pays out on first past the post and when your horse is demoted. The win part of the each way single or multiple bet placed will be paid out on both the official result and the first past the post.
However, there are exceptions, which you should note below.
- The Grand National
- A selection carrying the wrong weight
- Antepost bets
- Forecasts or Tricast bets
- Void races
- A selection taking the wrong course
- A selection is given as the winner in error by the judge
- A jockey failing to weigh in
- Totepool bets
- Favourite points markets
- Distance markets
- Bets placed on a two-runner race
- Special match bets
- Novelty bets
Horse races can be unpredictable. Sometimes, the horse that finishes first is not the winner, much to many bettor’s dissatisfaction. That is why many bookies offer the first past the post policy.
Other Bookmakers that Pay First Past The Post
Welcome Bonus Up To £50 Free Bet + £20 Casino
Explore our comprehensive Fafabet review for an amazing welcome offer, diverse sportsbook, and exciting casino experience. Perfect for sports betting fans of horse racing and football!
Does William Hill pay first past the post? To find out the answer to this question, read below.
This article thoroughly explains William Hill's first past post and demoted horse policies, as well as answers FAQs about first past the post policies at online bookies.
About the first past the post policy
In horse racing, a particular horse may be first to past the finish line but not the official winner of the race. In cases such as these, the first past the post policy allows bettors who wagered on the horse that crossed the finish line first to still get their earnings, even if they are disqualified.
At the same time, the first past the post policy does not steal earnings away from those who bet on the actual winner. Instead, people who wager on the first past the post and the actual winner of the race will get earnings on the wager.
Because of this, bettors can maximize their earnings by betting on two horses. If you bet on one horse that passes the finish line first but is disqualified and one horse that turns out to be the outright winner, you will get winnings for both.
Many online new bookies offer a first past the post policy, though not all. Additionally, the fine print regarding the first past the post policy differs from site to site. So, read the stipulations of your sportsbook before banking on the first past the post policy.
Do William Hill pay first past the post?
William Hill pays first past the post like many other bookies on UK and IRE horse racing, but their policy is slightly different from other online bookies.
Per William Hill's first past the post policy, you will be paid out a wager on the horse that passes the post first. Even if the horse is demoted or disqualified, you will still get a payout.
There are exceptions to this policy.
Most notably, it does not apply to the Grand National, void races, or placed horses that get demoted.
This last exception is often deemed the William Hill demoted horse policy, making the William Hill first past the post policy slightly different from other sites.
Here are more exceptions to the William Hill first past the post policy:
- Grand National
- Ante-post wagers
- Forecast wagers
- Tricast wagers
- Totepool wagers
- Voided races
- Wrong course selection
- Judge error
- Wrong weight
- Jockey failure to weigh in
- Favorite markets
- Distance markets
- Two-runner race bets
- Novelty bets
- Demoted placed horse
William Hill demoted horse policy
William Hill's demoted horse policy means that you will get your stake back in cash if your horse is first but is demoted to a different place.
The place part of the each-way bet is what will be settled as the winner.
Furthermore, you'll get the win and placed stakes whenever your horse passes the post first but is demoted behind the place horses.
FAQ's about first past the post rule
What is the first past the post rule?
The first past the post rule means you get paid as a winner whenever your horse crosses the post first, even if the horse gets disqualified.
People who bet on the official winner after the first past the post is disqualified also get paid as winners.
Do all bookies pay first past the post?
Do Bet 365 pay first past the post?
Yes. Bet 365 pays first past the post.
In summary, William Hill does offer a first past the post policy, but that policy is paired with a demoted horse policy.
Together, these two policies mean that you can still win if the first horse past the post is disqualified. However, the winnings are different if the horse is demoted.
More so, William Hill does have other exceptions to the first past the post policy. So, thoroughly read through their terms and conditions to understand how their policy differs from other sites, such as Betfred or any of the UK new betting sites.
Do UK Betting Sites Accept Credit Cards?
As the gambling industry continues to evolve, one key question arises: Will UK betting sites…
Court-Side Betting: The Ultimate Guide to the Best Tennis Betting Sites Online
Court-side betting allows bettors to make informed decisions based on real-time observations and offers improved…
Football Bore Draw – Best Uses! Updated for 2023
Welcome to our article explaining what "Bore Draw" means in the world of betting. More…
Bank Transfer Betting Sites UK Options Updated for 2023
Most betting sites in the UK offer some sort of bank transfer system. They will…
BetBull closed on 05/07/2022. Updated for 2023
BetBull closed its operations on 05/07/2022. BetBull is one of the UK’s most modern sportsbooks…
What Does Push Mean in betting? – Explained! Updated for 2023
On UK and other betting websites, a push is a tie in between you and…